可持续发展服务​

亚洲
ESG 趋势

香港交易所 – 修订 ESG 报告和上市规则

上市公司必须及时提供 ESG 数据,加强董事会参与,并报告气候变化的潜在影响

中国 – 中国证监会排放信息披露

重排放者须披露排放量及所有上市公司披露 E&S 数据(自愿)

作为联合国教科文组织认证的可持续发展企业,TQM 相信可持续发展对企业的持续增长至关重要;我们不仅关注短期利润,而是考虑相互依存和生态创新的长期收益。

首批 认证可持续发展企业

致力于促进和倡导企业可持续发展核心能力,并指定举办可持续发展核心能力发展培训。

TQM 的全球气候变化和可持续实践服务可以帮助您在瞬息万变的世界中建立长期价值,为考虑社会、环境和经济支柱的公司提供最合适的计划和建议。

制定可持续发展战略...

可持续性或企业责任战略是一组优先行动。它提供了一个商定的框架,以集中投资和推动绩效,以及吸引内部和外部利益相关者。战略需要从企业目标出发,与公司整体目标同步,为建立抱负、反映文化和关注正确的优先事项提供了基础,而愿景、使命和价值观则为反映企业文化和方向提供了基石。

确定重点问题...

严格的重要性评估流程对于确定对公司及其利益相关者最重要的问题至关重要。好的策略不仅包括优先排序,还包括做出真正专注于某些问题的决定。尽管所有选择看起来都很复杂,但最好的策略集中在几个优先事项上。

有效地优先排序...

一个好的战略需要有架构和重点。重点需要放在对公司最重要的正确问题上。在确定了正确的优先事项后,公司应该能够将其投资引导到少数关键领域。一个有效的框架应该将不同的问题组合在一起,并解释公司计划如何解决这些问题。这不仅有助于实施和定位资源,而且使战略的参与和沟通更加有效。

目标和关键绩效指标...

目标是有效的可持续发展战略的支柱,目标为企业内外的人提供了一个焦点。它们为管理层提供了一套明确的目标,以及外界可以用于判断进展的标准。在可能的情况下,承诺数字会更有影响力,例如将遵守标准的员工、工厂或供应商的百分比。最重要的是,公司应避免不具实效性的衡量方式或模糊的承诺。

参与和实施...

有效实施包括在广泛咨询后为员工提供指导,并建立治理、外部反馈和定期审查系统。应就可持续性的含义和新战略的含义提供明确的指导,并应建立正式的问责制来监督该战略。将策略带给外部利益相关者可以为公司建立拥护者,并通过回应利益相关者的观点来创建更具弹性的方法。在所有外部压力和洞察力中,企业不应忽视创造商业价值的必要性。

  • 能耗最高的单栋建筑:一号客运大楼
  • 用电量 ↘ 11%
  • 支持香港国际机场和53个商业伙伴参与减碳计划
  • 促进废物管理和食物天使计划

ISO 50001认证仪式

  • 环境管理体系 ISO 14001 和 能源管理体系 ISO 50001
  • 空调系统用电量 ↘ 8%/年
  • 照明系统用电量 ↘ 40,000 kWh/年
  • 电梯电机系统用电量 ↘ 30%/年
  • 保持并实现持续改善

中国银行(香港)重点大楼

银行界可持续发展指数排名最高

常见问题

什么是可持续发展目标?

可持续发展目标是联合国 2030 年可持续发展议程的一部分。作为向新的全球循环经济过渡的一部分,它们是一系列 17 个目标,将在 2030 年之前完成。这些概念曾经是政府的职权范围,包括:

  • 可持续经济
  • 可持续城市和社区
  • 负责任的消费和生产
  • 负担得起的清洁能源
  • 性别平等
  • 气候行动
可持续发展目标和ESG (环境、社会及管治)之间的关系是什么?

可持续发展目标(SDGs)是联合国制定的全球性目标,目前联合国制定了17个目标,以帮助企业和组织实现可持续发展实践。

环境、社会及管治 (ESG) 是公司用来衡量其环境和社会资质的评级系统,为帮助确定产品/服务是否对组织的环境、社会和治理做出积极贡献(正外部性)提供指导。

主要区别如下:

  • SDGs 着眼于长期的解决方案,并且处于更高的水平,专注于世界各地的具体目标。
  • ESG 衡量公司在其整个运营过程中在社会和环境责任方面的表现,并要求公司对其行为负责。

SDG 与 ESG 能为组织如何在其公司、产品和服务中实现可持续发展目标提供指导。

过去几年,越来越多的 ESG 报告提到了联合国可持续发展目标。截至 2020 年,近 30% 的上市公司已将联合国可持续发展目标作为其 ESG 工作的基石。除了在 ESG 报告中简单、静态地引用联合国可持续发展目标之外,公司还确定了与其业务对应的关键联合国可持续发展目标并设定了相关目标。进一步将17个目标融入实际ESG实践,制定、引导、沟通和报告企业ESG战略、目标和活动,形成ESG转型长效机制。

为什么企业采用 可持续发展目标 和 环境、社会及管治?

对于许多组织而言,如何推动企业范围内的可持续发展文化是一个至关重要的问题。建议联合国的可持续发展目标 (SDG) 以及其中包含的 169 项具体目标是这一进程中越来越重要的部分。事实上,68% 的企业管理层表示,他们以某种方式将可持续发展目标纳入其战略规划。

对于许多企业而言,可持续发展目标提供了一种切实可行的方式来推动其 ESG 活动。随着利益相关者资本主义的日益盛行和消费者对 ESG 的关注,声誉和信誉可能成为企业将注意力转向 ESG 的强大动力。

随着对 ESG 问题的认识不断提高,亚洲各国政府(包括中国大陆和香港)正在优先考虑 ESG 相关法规,将 SDGs 纳入指南并制定规则,以推动公司更加负责任和可持续发展。

除了合规性之外,公司现在正在整合各种国际报告标准和框架(例如联合国可持续发展目标和 GRI 等),以促进其 ESG 和/或可持续发展报告的未来发展并适应监管变化。

为什么它们对企业非常重要?

削减成本节省资金

遵守环境和社会法规,同时减少气候变化的影响有助于降低成本和节省资金

提高获得资本的机会

更好的内部治理和更高的公司在可持续性方面的排名有助于获得金融资本

降低运营风险

了解运营有助于降低环境、社会和财务风险

提高决策效率

收集信息的过程有助于做出更好的决策并更有效地运作

提升企业声誉

透明度是企业与利益相关者之间建立信任的关键因素之一

发现创新机遇

发现卓越和改进领域有助于刺激创新

Sustainability Services

ESG Trends in Asia

Hong Kong Exchange – Amendment to ESG reporting and listing rules

Listed companies have to provide ESG data in a timely manner, enhance board engagement, and report the potential impacts of climate change

China – CSRC Emission Disclosure

Heavy emitter required to disclose emissions and all listed companies to disclose E&S data (voluntary)

As a UNESCO approved Certified Sustainable Development Corporation, TQM believes that sustainable development is essential to the continued growth of the company; rather than focus on short-term profits, we instead consider the long-term benefits of interdependence and ecological innovation.

FIRST Batch of Certified Sustainable Development Corporation dedicated to promote and advocate sustainability core competencies in corporations and DESIGNATED for sustainability core competencies development training

TQM’s global network of climate change and sustainable practices can help you build long-term value in a rapidly changing world. We aim to do things differently and challenge the traditional consulting model and we are the ONLY consulting company delivering concrete and measurable results that enable the real ESG excellence in your organization.

Developing a sustainability strategy...

Sustainability or corporate responsibility strategy is a prioritised set of actions. It provides an agreed framework to focus investment and drive performance, as well as engage internal and external stakeholders. Strategy needs to flow from the corporate aims. A genuine link to the company’s overall objectives provides a foundation on which to build the aspirations, reflect the culture and focus on the right priorities, whereas a vision, mission and values provide the building blocks on which to reflect corporate culture and direction.

Identifying the issues that matter...

a rigorous process of materiality is essential to identifying the issues that matter most to the company as well as its stakeholders. Good strategy involves not just prioritisation, but making a decision to really focus on certain issues. Although all the choices can seem complex, the best strategies converge on a few priorities.

Prioritising effectively...

A good strategy needs to have a hierarchy and a focus. The focus needs to be on the right issues that are most material for the company. Having arrived at the right priorities, the company should be able to channel its investment into a small number of key areas. An effective framework should group together the different issues and explain how the company plans to address them. This not only helps with implementation and the targeting of resources but also makes engagement and communication of the strategy much more effective.

Targets and KPIs...

Targets are the backbone of an effective sustainability strategy and Goals provide a focal point for those inside and outside of the business. They provide a clear set of objectives for management, and a yardstick by which external audiences can judge progress. Wherever possible, it is more impactful to commit to numbers, such as a percentage of employees, factories or suppliers that will adhere to standards. Above all, companies need to avoid vague promises that are not possible to measure nor report progress against in a robust way.

Engagement and Implementation...

Effective implementation involves providing guidance to employees following extensive consultation and putting in place systems of governance, external feedback and regular review. A clear guidance on what sustainability means and what the new strategy means should be provided and a formal system of accountabilities should be put in place to oversee the strategy. Taking the strategy to external stakeholders can build advocates for the company, and also create a more resilient approach by responding to stakeholder views. Amid all the external pressures and insights, businesses should not lose sight of the need to create business value.

  • The Highest Energy Consumption Single Building: T1 Terminal
  • Electricity Consumption ↘11%
  • Support AAHK and 53 business partners in the Carbon Reduction Programme
  • Promote Waste Management and Food Angel Programme

ISO 50001 Certification Ceremony

  • EMS ISO 14001 and EnMS ISO 50001
  • Electricity Consumption of Air-conditioning ↘8%/ year
  • Electricity Consumption of Lighting ↘40,000 kWh/ year
  • Electricity Consumption of Lift Motor System ↘30%/ year
  • Maintained and achieved continuous improvement

Key Building of Bank of China (Hong Kong)

Highest Ranking in Hong Kong Business and Greater China Business Sustainability Index in the Banking Industry

FAQs

What are SDGs?

SDGs are part of the United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. They are a series of 17 goals to be completed by 2030 as a part of transitioning to a new global circular economy. These concepts used to be the remit of government, including:

  • Sustainable Economies
  • Sustainable Cities and Communities
  • Responsible Consumption and Production
  • Affordable and Clean Energy
  • Gender Equality
  • Climate Action
What is the relationship between SDGs and ESG?

SDGs (Sustainable Developn1ent Goals) are global goals set out by the United Nations, and there are currently 17 SDGs help guide companies and organizations through achieving sustainable development practices.

ESG is a rating system used by companies to measure their environmental and social credentials, providing guidelines in helping determine whether a product/ service is contributing positively (positive externalities) to the environment, society, and governance of an organization. 

The main differences are as follows:

  • SDGs focus on long-term solutions and are at a more high level, focusing on specific targets around the world.
  • ESG measures how well a company is performing in terms of its social and environmental responsibilities throughout its operations and holds companies accountable for their actions.

SDGs work together with ESG by providing guidelines on how an organization can achieve sustainable development goals within their company, products, and services.

More and more ESG reports have referred to UN SDGs over the past years. As of 2020, nearly 30% of listed companies sampled have applied UN SDGs as the cornerstone of their ESG work. Beyond a simple, static reference to UN SDGs in ESG reports, companies have also identified key UN SDGs that are mapped to their businesses and set related targets. Further, the 17 goals were integrated into actual ESG practice to set up, guide, communicate and report companies’ ESG strategies, targets and activities, thus forming a long-term mechanism for ESG transformation.

Why are businesses using SDGs and ESG?

For many organizations, the question of how to drive an enterprise-wide culture of sustainability is a crucial one. It is suggested that the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) — and the 169 targets they include — are an increasingly important part of this process. Indeed, 68% of respondents say they embed the SDGs into their strategic planning in some way.

For many businesses, the SDGs provide a tangible means through which to move their ESG activities. and important credibility with external audiences as stakeholder capitalism has become increasingly prevalent and consumers are becoming ESG-conscious, reputation and credibility can be a strong motivating factor for businesses to turn their attention to ESG.

Amid the rising awareness of ESG issues, Asian governments (including China and Hong Kong) are prioritizing ESG related regulations, incorporating SDGs into the guideline and developing rules to push forward more accountable and sustainable development of companies.

Going beyond regulatory compliance, companies are now incorporating various international reporting standards and frameworks (e.g. UN SDGs and GRI, etc) to facilitate the future development of their ESG and/or sustainability report and accommodate the regulation changes.

Why are they important to businesses?

CUT COST

Ensuring legal compliance while reducing the effect of climate change can help to cut costs and save money​

INCREASE ACCESS TO CAPITAL

Better internal governance and higher company rank in sustainability can help gain access to financial captital

RISK REDUCTION

Understanding operations helps to reduce environemntal, social and financial risks

IMPROVE EFFICIENCY

The process of gathering information help to make better decision and operate more efficiently.

CBETTER REPUTATION

Transparency is one of the key factors companies find helps them build trust amongst stakeholders

INNOVATION OPPORTUNITY

Discovering areas of excellence and improvement can help stimulate innovation